

# DECLARATION OF GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT (GVW)/ COMBINED GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHT (CGW)

DMV USE ONLY
RESIDENCE/GARAGED COUNTY CODE:

All registered owners or lessees of commercial motor vehicles operating at 10,001 lbs. or more Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) or Combined Gross Vehicle Weight (CGW) registered with the California Department of Motor Vehicles are required to declare the gross/combined gross weight at which their vehicle(s) will operate (see definitions below). Pickup trucks with no body type modifications (e.g., utility bed added, stake, etc.) and an unladen weight under 8,001 and a GVWR of 11,499 and under are excluded.

**IMPORTANT:** A Motor Carrier Permit may also be required. For more information about the Motor Carrier Permit, click on the Motor Carrier Services link at

Your registration card will display the highest weight in the GVW or CGW range you report. Your vehicle must display the appropriate weight decal and CVRA year sticker and the weight decal displayed must match the reported GVW or CGW weight shown on your registration card. The appropriate CVRA fees must be paid prior to operation of the vehicle at a higher weight. Commercial vehicles may be registered on a Partial Year Registration (PYR) basis.

SECTION A — REGISTERED OWNER OR LESSEE INFORMATION							
NAME			FLEET NUMBER (OPTIONAL)				
PHYSICAL ADDRESS (INCLUDE ST., AVE., RD., CT.,ETC.)	SPACE/STE.#	CITY	STATE ZIP CODE				
CALIFORNIA COUNTY OF RESIDENCE OR CALIFORNIA COUN	TY WHERE VEHICLE IS	S PRINCIPALLY (	GARAGED:				
			If no California county and used out-of-state, check this box				
MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT FROM PHYSICAL ABOVE)	SPACE/STE.#	CITY	STATE ZIP CODE				

#### **SECTION B — DEFINITIONS**

(GVW) (Vehicles that haul a load, but do not pull another vehicle): The weight that equals the total unladen weight of the vehicle plus the heaviest load that will be transported on the vehicle.

(CGW) (Vehicles that pull another vehicle): The total unladen weight of the combination of vehicles plus the heaviest load that will be transported by that combination of vehicles. If you tow a trailer or other vehicle (e.g., a truck loaded with produce pulling a trailer loaded with bricks), it is important that you declare the total, combined, gross operating weight of the *combination* of vehicles.

### COMMERCIAL VEHICLE REGISTRATION ACT (CVRA) RANGE SCHEDULE

USE THE FOLLOWING RANGE SCHEDULE TO DETERMINE YOUR VEHICLE(S)' GROSS/COMBINED GROSS WEIGHT CODE.

CVRA with the DMV the vehicle (CVC §9406.1).

**WARNING:** Operating at a weight higher than declared will subject you to late fee penalties (CVC §9554.2), as well as citation (CVC §9406.1), and upon conviction, substantial fines (CVC §42030.1) up to or in excess of \$2,000 per violation.

GVW/CGW WEIGHT RANGE	GVW/CGW WEIGHT CODE	CVRA FEE	GVW/CGW WEIGHT RANGE	GVW/CGW WEIGHT CODE	CVRA FEE	GVW/CGW WEIGHT RANGE	GVW/CGW WEIGHT CODE	CVRA FEE
Under 10,001	NONE	\$ N/A	30,001-35,000	E	\$ 801	55,000-60,000	J	\$ 1,431
10,001–15,000	Α	332	35,001-40,000	F	937	60,001-65,000	K	1,562
15,001-20,000	В	447	40,001-45,000	G	1,028	65,001–70,000	L	1,701
20,001-26,000	С	546	45,001- 50,000	Н	1,161	70,001–75,000	M	2,004
26,001-30,000	D	586	50,001- 54,999	1	1,270	75,001-80,000	N	2,064

### SECTION C — DECLARATION

In the appropriate box below, provide the vehicle information, enter the code for the highest weight range in which your vehicle(s) will operate and also write that weight in the box, and enter the date each vehicle will FIRST or WAS FIRST (e.g., clearing a citation) operated at the weight you have declared. If the vehicle(s) will be operated under 10,001 lbs. gross/combined weight, place an ("X") in the "VEHICLE OPERATED UNDER 10,001 lbs." box for that vehicle.

VEHICLE LICENSE NUMBER	VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER	MAKE	VEHICLE OPERATED UNDER 10,001 lbs.	GVW CODE	CGW CODE	DATE VEHICLE WILL BE OR WAS	
				WRITE A-N CODE AND WEIGHT		OPERATED AT THIS WEIGHT	

## SECTION D — CERTIFICATION:

**NOTE:** The signature for a company or business name must include the printed name of the company/business and an authorized representative's countersignature on the signature line (e.g., ABC CO., by John Smith -or- Joseph Smith for ABC CO.).

REGISTERED OWNER'S, LESSEE'S, OR DESIGNEE'S SIGNATURE	DATE
X	