

# Vehicle Industry News VIN 2018-21 Miscellaneous Fee Increases

PUBLISHING & ONLINE INFORMATION BRANCH • COMMUNICATION PROGRAMS DIVISION • © 2018 STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

### Effective: January 1, 2019

#### **New Information**

Vehicle fees due on January 1, 2019, and later, identified in the table below will increase.

### Procedures

Programming is in place to calculate the following fee increases:

Fee Code	Type of Fee	California Vehicle Code (CVC) Sections (§)	Old Total Fee	New Total Fee
001	Registration	§9250	\$55	\$57
101				
201				
301				
002	California Highway Patrol	§9250.8(a) not affected,	\$25	\$26
102	(CHP)	<b>§9250.13</b> (a)(1)	(\$4	(\$4 and
202 302			and <b>\$21</b> )	<b>\$22</b> )
013	Privately-owned school bus	§9102.5(a)	\$21	\$22
113	(PSB) registration/licensing	§9102.5(c)	·	
213	education-related nonprofit			
313	purpose			
016	Moped original	§5036	\$21	\$22
029	Special equipment (SE)	§5014(f)	\$21	\$22
	original/transfer-pursuant	§9261(a)		
	to CVC §5014 or §5016.5	§9261(b)		
	(SE transfer is covered under	§9261(c)		
	this fee code as a new owner			
0.22	must apply and qualify)	80050	<b>\$21</b>	<b> </b>
032	One trip permit	§9258	\$21	\$22
035	Off-highway vehicle (OHV)	§38232	\$21	\$22
	(Motorcycle) transportation permit			
045	SE renewal-pursuant to CVC	§5014(f)	\$21	\$22
	§5014 or §5016.5	§9261(d)		
079	CHP Commercial Vehicle	§9250.8(a) not affected,	\$41	\$44
179	Registration Act (CVRA)	§9250.8(b),	(\$4,	(\$4, <b>\$9</b> , <b>\$9</b> ,
279		<b>§9250.13</b> (2),	<b>\$8</b> ,	and <b>\$22</b> )
379		§9250.13(a)(1)	<b>\$8</b> ,	
			and	
165			<b>\$21</b> )	
402	Title only	§9254	\$21	\$22

### VIN 2018-21

## Page 2 of 3

**Procedures**, *continued* 

,	continued		011	
Fee Code	Type of Fee	California Vehicle Code (CVC) Sections (§)	Old Total Fee	New Total Fee
403	OHV transfer	\$38255(a) \$38255(b) \$38255(c)	\$21	\$22
405	Moped transfer	§5036	\$21	\$22
411	Salvage certificate	§11515	\$21	\$22
412	OHV salvage certificate	§11515	\$21	\$22
421	Duplicate ownership certificate	§9265(a)	\$21	\$22
422	Duplicate registration	§9265(a)	\$21	\$22
423	Duplicate license plate	§9265(b)	\$21	\$22
424	OHV duplicate ownership certificate	\$38260	\$21	\$22
425	OHV duplicate registration	§38260	\$21	\$22
428	Moped duplicate identification (ID) card	§5036	\$21	\$22
430	Prisoner of War (POW) duplicate license plate	§9265(b)	\$21	\$22
432	SE duplicate ID	§9265(a)	\$21	\$22
433	Horseless carriage/historical vehicle/historical motorcycle duplicate license plate	\$5004 \$9265	\$21	\$22
434	Duplicate salvage certificate- pursuant to CVC §11515	§9265(a)	\$21	\$22
435	OHV duplicate salvage certificate-pursuant to CVC §11515	§9265(a)	\$21	\$22
441	Substitute license plate	§9265(b)	\$21	\$22
442	Substitute sticker	§9265(b)	\$21	\$22
443	OHV substitute plate	§38260	\$21	\$22
446	Moped substitute plate	§9265(b)	\$21	\$22
448	SE substitute plate	§9265(b)	\$21	\$22
456	Partial year registration (PYR) service	§9702	\$21	\$22
457	Nonresident original service	§9252(a)	\$21	\$22
458	Nonresident reregistration	§9252(a)	\$21	\$22
465	OHV planned nonoperation (PNO) service	§38121(b)	\$21	\$22

VIN 2018-21

Page 3 of 3

Procedures,	continued
I I UCCUUI CS,	commueu

	Procedures, continued				
Fee	Type of Fee	California Vehicle Code	Old	New Total	
Code		(CVC) Sections (§)	Total	Fee	
			Fee		
472	VLF Refund Service	R&TC 10902(c)	\$21	\$22	
474	PNO service	§4604(b)	\$21	\$22	
484	Nonrepairable certificate	§11515.2	\$21	\$22	
485	Duplicate nonrepairable certificate	§11515.2	\$21	\$22	
488	Permanent trailer ID (PTI) paper title	§9254	\$21	\$22	
542	OHV transfer penalty	§38265(a)	\$21	\$22	
621	Prejudgment attachment	California Code of Civil	\$21	\$22	
	(filing/indexing notice of lien	Procedures			
	and certificate fee for notice of	§§488.385(b) and			
	attachment)	488.385(c)			
627	Nonresident commuter permit	§6700.25(e)	\$21	\$22	
680	International Registration Plan	§9250.8(a) not affected,	\$25	\$26	
	(IRP) CHP	§9250.13(a)(1)	(\$4	(\$4 and	
			and	<b>\$22</b> )	
			<b>\$21</b> )		
693	IRP CHP	§9250.8(a) not affected,	\$41	\$44	
		<b>§9250.8(b)</b> ,	(\$4,	(\$4, <b>\$9</b> , <b>\$9</b> ,	
		§9250.13(2),	<b>\$8</b> ,	and <b>\$22</b> )	
		§9250.13(a)(1)	<b>\$8</b> ,		
			and		
			\$21)		
910	Firm substitute special license	§9262	\$21	\$22	
	plate	§9265(b)			
911	Firm duplicate registration	§9262	\$21	\$22	
		§9265(a)			
912	Firm substitute sticker	§9262	\$21	\$22	
		§9265(b)			

### Background

Several fees authorized by the California Vehicle Code are subject to an annual adjustment based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI).

### References

*California Vehicle Code* §§1678, 1685, 9250.8, 9250.8(a), 9250.8(b), 9250.13(a)(1), and 9250.13(a)(2) *California Revenue and Taxation Code* §10902(c) *California Code of Civil Procedures* §§488.385(b) and 488.385(c)