# VIN 2017-05

# **County Fee Changes**

# **New Information**

The vehicle theft deterrence, investigation and prosecution, and prosecution of driving under the influence (Auto Theft/DUI), and fingerprint identification (FID) programs fee collection by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be changed as follows.

Effective with vehicle registration fees due on April 1, 2017, and after:

- Alameda County (county code [CC] 01) will increase its Auto Theft/DUI program fees from \$1 to \$2 for autos and from \$3 to \$4 for Commercial Vehicle Registration Act (CVRA).
- Santa Clara County (CC 43) will increase its Auto Theft/DUI program fees from \$1 to \$2 for autos and from \$3 to \$4 for CVRA.
- **Kern County (CC 15)** will increase its FID program fees from \$1 to \$2 for autos and from \$3 to \$6 for CVRA.
- **El Dorado County (CC 09)** will reinstate its FID program at \$1 for autos and \$3 for CVRA.

Effective with vehicle registration fees due on or after June 1, 2017, the Abandoned Vehicle Abatement (AVA) program fee collection by DMV will be changed as follows:

• **Del Norte County (CC 08)** and **Kings County (CC 16)** will extend their AVA programs to May 31, 2027.

All other counties that currently have fee programs will continue to participate and DMV will continue to collect the various program fees. For the complete list of participating counties and fees, see the *Vehicle Industry Registration Procedures Manual*, Appendix 1A located at **www.dmv.ca.gov**.

## **Procedures**

Process registration applications as normal; programming will generate the correct county fees.

## **Background**

Currently, DMV collects \$1 or \$2 on specified motor vehicles and an additional \$2 to \$4 for CVRA vehicles registered in participating counties for the purpose of funding Auto Theft/DUI, FID, and AVA programs.

California Vehicle Code §9250.14 allows participating California counties to increase the Auto Theft/DUI and CVRA Auto Theft/DUI fees. California Vehicle Code §9250.19 allows participating California counties to increase the FID and CVRA FID fees. California Vehicle Code §9250.7 allows participating California counties to collect AVA and CVRA AVA fees.

#### **Distribution**

Notification that this memo is available online, at **www.dmv.ca.gov** under Publications was made via California DMV's Automated Email Alert System in March 2017.

#### References

California Vehicle Code §§9250.7, 9250.14, 9250.19, and 22660

#### Contact

Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further clarification of this memo.