

Vehicle Industry News VIN 2019-04

Abandoned Vehicle Abatement Program Update

PUBLISHING & ONLINE INFORMATION BRANCH • COMMUNICATION PROGRAMS DIVISION • © 2019 STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Issue Date: March 1, 2019

New Information

Effective with vehicle expiration dates of April 1, 2019, and after, the Abandoned Vehicle Abatement (AVA) program will be reinstated in Lake (county code [CC] 17) and Riverside (CC 33) Counties.

All other counties that currently have fee programs will continue to participate and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will continue to collect the various program fees. For the complete list of participating counties and fees, see the *Vehicle Industry* Registration Procedures Manual, Appendix 1A located at dmv.ca.gov.

Procedures

Process registration applications as normal; programming will generate the correct county fees.

Background

The California State Controller's Office suspended the AVA program in Lake and Riverside Counties, effective January 1, 2017. Currently, DMV assesses a base fee of \$1 on all vehicles registered within a participating county to fund its respective AVA program. An additional \$2, for a total of \$3, applies to Commercial Vehicle Registration Act (CVRA) vehicles registered in those participating counties.

California Vehicle Code §9250.7 allows participating California counties to collect AVA and CVRA AVA fees.

Distribution

Notification that this memo is available online at **dmv.ca.gov** under Publications was made via California DMV's Automated Email Alert System in March 2019.

Reference

California Vehicle Code §§9250.7, 9250.14, 9250.19, and 22660

Contact

Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further clarification of this memo.