

Vehicle Industry News VIN 2021-07

New Quagga/Zebra Mussel Fee Procedures

DIGITAL INFORMATION BRANCH • CUSTOMER SERVICES DIVISION • © 2021 STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Issue Date: September 10, 2021

New Policy

The Quagga and Zebra Mussel Infestation Prevention Fee (Mussel Fee) is no longer required to be paid for original and renewal vessel registration applications. Programming is in place so the Mussel Fee will not automatically be assessed as part of fees due for the vessel transaction.

Vessels used in fresh waters are required to display a current Mussel Fee sticker.

Vessels **not** required to be registered in California, and the following **registered** vessels, will continue to be exempt from displaying the mussel sticker:

- Vessels used only in marine waters.
- Annual exempt youth group (type license code [TLC] V6).
- Annual exempt government (TLC V7).
- CF numbers issued to dealers (TLC V3).
- CF numbers issued to manufacturers (TLC V4).

Mussel Fee

The Mussel Fee may be paid at any time and will be processed as a separate transaction. The fee amounts remain the same:

- \$8 for original vessel registration when the date fees due is in an even-numbered year.
- \$16 for:
 - Original vessel registration when the date fees due is in an odd-numbered year.
 - Vessel registration renewal.
 - Replacement Mussel Fee sticker.

New Online Process to Obtain Mussel Stickers

Vessel owners using the online Vehicle Registration Internet Renewal (VRIR) application will no longer include the Mussel Fee sticker as part of the vessel renewal. Instead, vessel owners will be able to purchase the Mussel Fee sticker as a separate item using the new online Quagga Sticker Request application. The Mussel Fee sticker will be mailed separately from their vessel registration.

Vessel Registration Renewal Notice

The vessel registration renewal notice will no longer display the Mussel Fee, nor will there be an option to purchase a Mussel Fee sticker via the renewal notice. Vessel registration renewal notices will direct customers to the online Quagga Sticker Request application to purchase Mussel Fee stickers separately.

NOTE: The option to purchase Mussel stickers with vessel renewal via the telephone Interactive Voice Response (IVR) system has been disabled.

Business Partner Automation (BPA) Program

Business partners in the BPA program will no longer issue Mussel stickers.

VIN 2021-07

Page 2 of 2

Background

The California Department of Parks and Recreation revised state regulations related to the collection of the Mussel Fee as required by federal regulations. Payment of the Mussel Fee is still required but no longer available to be purchased with vessel registration in California.

References

VIN 2013–20 New Quagga/Zebra Mussel Fee for Vessels *California Code of Regulations*, Title 14, Chapter 1, Article 1.5

Distribution

Notification that this memo is available at **dmv.ca.gov** under Vehicle Industry Services, was made via the California DMV Automated Email Alert System in September 2021.

Contact

Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further clarification of this memo.