

Vehicle Industry News VIN 2020-08 **County Fee Changes**

DIGITAL INFORMATION BRANCH • CUSTOMER SERVICES DIVISION • © 2020 STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Issue Date: August 25, 2020

New Information

The vehicle theft deterrence, investigation and prosecution, and prosecution of driving under the influence (Auto Theft/DUI), and abandoned vehicle abatement (AVA) programs fee collection by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be changed as follows.

Effective with vehicle registration fees due on July 1, 2020, or after:

Yolo County (county code [CC] 57) will increase its Auto Theft/DUI program fees from \$1 to \$2 for autos and from \$3 to \$6 for Commercial Vehicle Registration Act (CVRA).

Effective with vehicle registration fees due on July 17, 2020, or after:

Merced County (CC 24) will extend their AVA program to July 16, 2030.

All other counties that currently have fee programs will continue to participate and DMV will continue to collect the various program fees. For the complete list of participating counties and fees, see the Vehicle Industry Registration Procedures Manual, Appendix 1A, located at dmv.ca.gov.

Procedures

Process registration applications as normal; programming will generate the correct county fees.

Background

Currently, DMV assesses a base fee of \$1 on all vehicles registered within a participating county to fund its respective Auto Theft/DUI and AVA programs. An additional \$2, for a total of \$3, applies to Commercial Vehicle Registration Act (CVRA) vehicles registered in those participating counties.

California Vehicle Code §9250.14 allows participating California counties to increase the Auto Theft/DUI and CVRA Auto Theft/DUI fees. California Vehicle Code §9250.7 allows participating California counties to collect AVA and CVRA AVA fees.

Reference

California Vehicle Code §§9250.7 and 9250.14

Distribution

Notification that this memo is available online at dmv.ca.gov under Publications was made via California DMV's Automated Email Alert System in August 2020.

Contact

Call the DMV Customer Communications Section at (916) 657-6560 for further clarification of this memo.